Footwear…

Most people, when they go backpacking, or go outside for any reason really, wear shoes. I’ve been roaming around barefoot ever since I was a kid. I lost track of the number of times my parents yelled at me for not wearing shoes in a place where it was “dangerous to not wear shoes”. As I got more and more into hiking, I was fascinated to learn that I could hike barefoot over most of the terrain I encountered without losing much speed. (The only thing that really slows me up is gravel and small pointy rocks.) I love the feel of the forest floor on my feet. I love the way my feet can grip rocks and roots. I love the traction I have when I’m barefoot. That is why, as long as it’s comfortable, I’m going to be thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail barefoot! 🙂

“YOU’RE DOING WHAT?!”

“There’s snakes and rocks and sticks and pointy stuff out there! You’re going to destroy your feet.”

“You’ll never be able to keep up with me.” – Jake

These are just a few of the reactions I’ve gotten when I tell people that I’m planning on hiking barefoot some of the time. Not even all of the time. I did read an awesome book about two sisters who hiked the entire trail barefoot, but I’m not that hardcore. If the trail is super graveley and it feels like my feet are on fire from the sharp rocks, I’m going to put my shoes on. I do have shoes. For me, it’s not about setting some kind of record or getting attention. I don’t need to say that I hiked the entire trail barefoot. I’ll leave Springer with my regular hiking shoes just in case, and then if I feel like I don’t need them after my feet toughen up I’ll send them home and just use my crocs.

Screen Shot 2016-02-27 at 8.45.02 AM
Barefoot stream hike near State College last summer.

During my trail research, I was unable to find any information about people backpacking barefoot. Every article I found had “Backpacking barefoot” in the title but when I clicked on them they were all talking about minimalist shoes, rather than actual barefoot hiking. I’m really curious if other people have done it, and if so, how much it slowed them down. Since I’m hiking with Jake, and he most definitely will be wearing shoes, I’m curious about how it’s all going to work logistically. I guess we’ll just have to wait and see!

So here’s to trying new things. I don’t know if I’ll stay barefoot or if I’ll put shoes on, but I do know that I’m gonna have a hell of a time trying it out 🙂

Did you ever meet anyone backpacking barefoot? Have you tried it out? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

One Comment Add yours

  1. We did meet someone who was hiking barefoot when we were on the AT. They were going southbound and we were going north so we really only crossed paths for a couple of seconds but I can tell you they were going REALLY slow. They looked like they were being really careful about where they were placing their feet. The AT is full of rocks and roots but I am sure anything is possible. There is a book, called the barefoot sisters or something like that about two women who did the trail barefoot. You could check that out! Good luck!

    Like

Leave a comment