Gear nerd-out

It’s Saturday morning, AKA the only time I ever have time to blog! I normally go in early and take a few runs before work but it’s waaaay too busy at Stratton on the weekends to even think about riding.

Since I’ve been trying to get everything together for the trail, I thought I’d organize all my gear and write a blog about it! Informational for you guys, organizational for me! 🙂

Let’s start with the basics. Clothes. What the hell does one wear for 6 months in the woods?! The answer: layers, layers, layers. Here’s a picture of the clothes I’m bringing (minus rain pants. gotta get those.)

IMG_5763

This is probably overdoing it, but I have no idea what the weather’s going to be like and I’d rather be safe than sorry. Some of this might get mailed home in Neels Gap, but whatever :p I’ll make a little list so you can see exactly what everything is / how much it cost me

From bottom left to top right:

  • Synthetic undies [2] – (Wal-mart brand, $5)
  • Smartwool mid-weight socks [2] – ($30)
    • we’ll see. If I end up actually hiking barefoot these will go home.
  • Gloves (free)
  • Merino Wool mid-weight base layer – ($50) for camp
  • Reebok purple leggings – ($20) for cold weather hiking and/or camp, depending on the day
  • Synthetic tank tops [2] – (Wal-mart, $5)
  • Light-weight black baselayer top – (christmas present)
  • Light-weight black baselayer bottom – (christmas present) for hiking and/or camp, depending on the day
  • Blue spandex shorts – ($3) for hiking on warm days
  • Columbia yellow fleece – ($5 goodwill) camp
  • Black Target brand puffy – ($50)
  • Outdoor Research rain jacket – ($80)
  • Not pictured
    • Columbia rain pants – ($20)
    • BUFF bandana – ($10)
    • Oboz hiking shoes – ($135)

 

IMG_5766

Here’s everything else. Except I forgot to put my shoes and camp shoes in the picture. Can’t hike without shoes! (…. or can you? 😉 anyway..

  • Teton Sports 20F sleeping bag – ($60, 2.9lbs) does the job, not bad for the price.
  • Kelty Lakota 60L pack – ($70, 3lbs) got it on sale, love it!
  • Therm-a-rest sleeping pad – ($36, 1 lb)
  • REI half-dome 2 tent – ($130, 5lbs – shared weight) I’ll carry the poles/ground cloth, jake carries the rest
  • Heavy-duty plastic bag – (free) using for a pack liner
  • Wal-mart grease pot – ($6)
  • Backpacking stove – ($10)
    • Fuel
  • Drawstring food bag, green – (free)
  • Headlamp – (free) cheap one from hardware store, takes batteries, pretty light
  • Assorted toiletries / journal / first aid in ziploc
  • Solar charger and phone charger – ($20) we’ll see if it actually works
  • Platypus 3L bladder – ($25, 6 oz)
  • Sawyer Squeeze water filter – ($40, 3oz)
  • Not pictured:
    • Lightweight hiking umbrella – ($10) gonna try it out, we’ll see
    • My phone (took the picture lol)
    • Crocs – (free) camp shoes
    • Plastic cut-off bottle for scooping water into my bladder
    • Possible slackline setup? more on that in another post 🙂
    • Handmade trekking poles (free)

 

With all that, my base weight comes to around 17lbs. Not ultralight by any means, but not too heavy either!

Happy hiking! Any gear suggestions? I’d love to hear about your gear / what’s wrong with my gear / anything else you want to talk about! 🙂

 

 

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a comment